Oil and Gas Auditing & Accounting Services

Services for Energy Companies

Audit & Attestation

  • Oil and gas exploration accounting under full cost or successful efforts
  • Financial statement audit, review, compilation, or special report services to comply with regulatory, lending, and private equity reporting
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits

Tax Planning & Compliance

  • Federal and State Tax Planning and Compliance
  • Tax Provision Assistance (ASC 740)
  • International Tax Planning and Compliance
  • State and Local Tax (SALT)

Business Advisory

  • IPOs and Integration Strategies for Acquisition & Divestiture
  • Cash Flow Management
  • Internal Controls Analysis
  • Operational Process Improvements
  • Buyouts/Succession Planning
  • Acquisition & Divestiture Services
  • Business Structure and Entity Planning
  • Exit Strategies
  • Business Valuation

Forensic Accounting

  • Fraud Investigations
  • Asset Tracing
  • Dispute Resolution

How We Can Assist with Current Energy Industry Accounting & Tax Issues

Cost Management for Internal Financial Functions

Project billing, month-end closings, and reports for lenders can place burdens on your existing finance and accounting staff. And with the continued uncertainly surrounding commodity pricing, many energy companies are seeking ways to reduce internal fixed costs yet maintain efficient operations.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s outsourced controller and accounting services gives you budget flexibility and control when you require interim support of full back office accounting functions. Contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com for more details.

Acquisitions & Divestitures

The volatility of commodity pricing continues to create transaction opportunities in E&P and oilfield services companies as companies right-size their operations.

How to prepare: Our Acquisitions & Divestitures group can work with management, lenders, and private equity firms on the valuation, diligence, analysis, tax planning, closing, and newco structures. Our team has worked on a diverse set of transactions with a wide range of purchase prices, entity structures, and types of buyers and sellers. For more information contact Jason Sharp at jsharp@bvccpa.com.

Recovery from Vendors

Oftentimes, actual contract delivery and performance varies from the terms of a supplier contract, causing hidden losses on the operator or services company. When the energy business was booming, few companies would even attempt to reconcile underperformance.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka professionals can perform audits of actual vs. contracted performance and, depending on the terms of the contract, find cash recoveries for the company. Proactively, we can examine current contract structure from a performance standpoint to advise you on how to create opportunities for recovery in future contracts. Contact Adam Dimmick for more information at adimmick@bvccpa.com

 

Lease Accounting Changes

For E&P and service companies who rely on leasing capital equipment, the new lease accounting standards can have significant impact on financial statements and financial covenants. It is important to understand the implications on covenants currently being negotiated.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka audit professionals can assist in determining the potential impact of these new standards in advance of them going into effect and offer planning options to take a proactive approach with lenders and other users of financial statements. Contact Kevin Stewart at kstewart@bvccpa.com for more information.

Operations in Foreign Jurisdictions

The complexities of oil & gas operations are compounded in foreign jurisdictions from regulatory, tax, operations, and fraud standpoints. Many middle market E&P and service companies either don’t have the experience or the resources to address these issues.

How to prepare: Our international services group has extensive experience advising companies on entity structure, fraud issues, and other complexities that allow for efficient operations in foreign jurisdictions. We partner with legal, insurance, and other professional services to create seamless solutions for ventures into foreign jurisdictions. Contact Crystal Gates at cgates@bvccpa.com for more information.

Joseph_Meyer

Joseph Meyer

Risk Advisory Services Director, CIA, CISA
joseph.meyer@bvccpa.com
713-366-8558

BIOVCARDLINKEDIN

Michelle_Mullen

Michelle Mullen

Tax Partner, CPA
mmullen@bvccpa.com
713-366-8560

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Forest_Xu

Forest Xu

Tax Partner, CPA
fxu@bvccpa.com
713-366-8529

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Sonny_Brandtner

Sonny Brandtner

Consulting Partner, CPA, CFE
sbrandtner@bvccpa.com
281-917-7541

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Kerry Kilgore

Audit Partner, CPA
kkilgore@bvccpa.com
713-366-8523

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Fast Facts

  • Briggs & Veselka is a viable alternative to larger accounting firms. Our fees are incredibly competitive in the industry. Our service model and delivery team focuses on proactivity.
  • Innovative solutions that provide opportunities for “found money” or cost reductions for companies wishing to right size their operations
  • Extensive experience in tax, audit, and transaction matters in the E&P and oilfield services value chain
  • We understand the unique capital structure of the E&P segment, and have deep experience within the PE and broader lending community—the fuel that drives the investment in the sector
Find All Energy Services Professionals

    Adam DimmickAudit Partner and Department Chair, CPA, CGMAadimmick@bvccpa.com713-353-1954 EDUCATION B.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Beverly Hensley Tax Partner, CPA bhensley@bvccpa.com 979-543-1040 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston - VictoriaB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionReal EstateSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Partner, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Dan St.Clair Audit Director, CPA dst.clair@bvccpa.com 713-353-1974 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting  from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Partner, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureConstructionEnergyFinancial ...
    Read More
    Edward Fowler Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Partner, CFA, ASA, MAFFedward.fowler@bvccpa.com512-476-8866 CERTIFICATIONSAccredited Senior Appraiser – Business ValuationChartered Financial AnalystMaster Analyst ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Partner, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATIONMiami University of OhioMaster in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Hal D. Miller Tax Partner, CPA hal.miller@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Abilene Christian University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATIONUniversity of the East, Manila, PhillippinesCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Jamie SylvesterAudit Partner, CPAjsylvester@bvccpa.com713-353-1931 EDUCATION B.M. from the University of Lethbridge in Canada Graduate of the Northern Alberta Institute of ...
    Read More
    Jason Liu Audit Partner, CPA jliu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8563 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonMBACERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESBiotechConstructionEnergyLife Sciences & BiotechnologyManufacturing & DistributionRetailSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    Jason Sharp Tax Partner, CPA, JD, LLMjsharp@bvccpa.com713-366-8562 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonJuris Doctorate from South Texas College ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATIONJD from Texas Tech UniversityMBA in Accounting from Texas ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Director, CPAjalcorta@bvccpa.com713-353-1978 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonB.S. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Partner, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Partner, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 EDUCATIONUniversity of NebraskaB.S. in AccountingThe University of TexasMaster in Professional AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – ...
    Read More
    Joseph MeyerRisk Advisory Services Director, CIA, CISAjoseph.meyer@bvccpa.com713-366-8558 EDUCATION M.B.A. Internal Audit/Information Systems B.A in Liberal Arts from Louisiana State University ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESCorporate Tax Planning ...
    Read More
    Kerry Kilgore Audit Partner, CPAkkilgore@bvccpa.com713-366-8523 EDUCATION Abilene Christian University Masters of Accountancy CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Energy ...
    Read More
    Kevin Hengst Audit Principal, CPA khengst@bvccpa.com 713-366-8514 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston Honors CollegeB.B.A. in Business AdministrationCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyRestaurants & HospitalityTransportationSERVICESPrivate ...
    Read More
    Lynell Lilly Tax Partner, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionNon-ProfitProfessional ...
    Read More
    Marilyn Fowler Tax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonM.S. in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Partner, CPA meresa.morgan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1921 EDUCATIONB.S.B.A. in Accounting from Auburn UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Michelle Mullen Tax Partner, CPA mmullen@bvccpa.com 713-366-8560 EDUCATIONWashington State UniversityMBAB.A. in Business AdministrationB.S. in AgribusinessCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Partner, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial ...
    Read More
    Rubik Yeriazarian Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Principal, CPA, CFE, CFF rubiky@bvccpa.com 713-366-8527 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonBBA in AccountingMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified ...
    Read More
    Sheila Enriquez Managing Shareholder senriquez@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATIONB.S. in Public Accounting, summa cum laude, from Mercy CollegeM.B.A. at Long Island University, ...
    Read More
    Sonny Brandtner Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE sbrandtner@bvccpa.com 281-917-7541 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from University of Texas - AustinCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Thao Griepp FVLS Director, CPA, J.D.tgriepp@bvccpa.com832-463-4137   EDUCATIONUniversity of Texas - AustinBBA in AccountingMPAUniversity of Houston Law CenterJ.D.CERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Partner, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityBeijing Medical UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasCertified Financial PlannerINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More