Accounting & Tax Service for Professional Service Providers

Services for Professional Services Companies

Audit & Attestation

  • Audit, Review and Compilation of Financial Statements
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits

Tax Planning & Preparation

  • Federal/State Tax Planning and Compliance for Corporations and Partnerships
  • Entity Structure Analysis
  • Individual Tax Planning & Compliance
  • Gift & Estate Planning
  • State and Local Tax (SALT) 

Business Advisory

Forensic Accounting

  • Accounting Controversy Matters
  • Expert Testimony

How We Can Assist with Current Professional Services Accounting & Tax Issues

Acquisition & Divestiture

Aging baby boomers who are shareholders in professional services firms are more frequently contemplating A&D activities, which can be time consuming, expensive, and a distraction from serving your own clients.

How to prepare: From valuations to tax planning and operational improvement, Briggs & Veselka’s Acquisition & Divestiture professionals bring industry and transaction knowledge to mergers and acquisitions in professional services, either from a buyer or seller standpoint. For more information, contact Jason Sharp at jsharp@bvccpa.com.

Cost Management for Internal Financial Functions

Billing, month-end closings, and reports for lenders can place burdens on your existing finance and accounting staff and impede the cash flow of your operations.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s Outsourced Accounting Services provides budget flexibility and control when you require interim support of full back office accounting functions. For more information, contact David Phelps at dphelps@bvccpa.com.

Accounting Controversy

When accounting firms are involved with lawsuits, they often require independent expert investigation and oftentimes, testimony of findings.

How to prepare: Our professionals have a unique combination of skills:  decades of peer review experience; SEC registrant experience; testifying experience; and a focus on the middle market.  This combination can be effective and credibility in firm defense work related to accounting lawsuits. For more information, contact Sheila Enriquez at senriquez@bvccpa.com.

Employee Benefit Plan Compliance

The Department of Labor (DOL) requires many defined benefit plans to have an annual audit, which can be time consuming and costly, even for a plan with fewer than 1000 employees.

How to Prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s Employee Benefit Plan Audit group is in the top 1% of all accounting firms in terms of the number of plans audited; we are recognized as thought leaders in the area and offer reasonable rate structure uniquely suited for middle market professional services firms. For more information, contact Meresa Morgan at mmorgan@bvccpa.com.

Organizations We Serve

  • Law Firms and Their Partners
  • Medical Practices and Physicians
  • Engineering Companies
  • Architectural Firms and Their Partners
  • Title Companies
  • Employee Benefit Consulting Firms
  • Financial Planning Service Providers
  • Other CPA firms
  • Professional Service Recruiting Firms

Sheila_Enriquez

Sheila Enriquez

Managing Partner, CPA, JD
senriquez@bvccpa.com
713-667-9147

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Kevin_Lovins

Kevin Lovins

Tax Partner, CPA
klovins@bvccpa.com
713-353-1914

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Fast Facts

  • The firm serves a variety of professional organizations from AMLAW 100 firms to major medical practices in Texas with a variety of outsourced or co-sourced services
  • Especially attuned to the interaction between corporate and personal tax planning and compliance unique to most professional service firms
  • The fact we are hired by other accounting firms speaks to the integrity of our people and our work product
  • Our active peer review process within the accounting industry demonstrates a high level of knowledge and respect among our professional services peers
Find All Professional Services Professionals


    Adam DimmickAudit Partner and Department Chair, CPA, CGMAadimmick@bvccpa.com713-353-1954 EDUCATION B.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Angie Armstrong Tax Director, CPA aarmstrong@bvccpa.com 713-353-1987 EDUCATION Kansas State University B.A. in Accounting Magna Cum Laude University of Houston ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Partner, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Brian Jordan Tax Director, CPA, CFE bjordan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1980 EDUCATIONUniversity of AlabamaB.S.B.A.University of Houston - Clear LakeM.B.A.CERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasCertified ...
    Read More
    Crystal Gates Tax Partner, CPA cgates@bvccpa.com 713-353-1955 EDUCATIONUniversity of ColoradoBSBA in AccountingUniversity of DenverMasters of TaxationCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionHigh Net ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Partner, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureConstructionEnergyFinancial ...
    Read More
    Debra Seefeld Audit Partner, CPA, CFE debra.seefeld@bvccpa.com 832-246-7565 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from Sam Houston State UniversityGraduated Magna Cum LaudeCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Dennis Baonguis Audit Director, CPA dbaonguis@bvccpa.com 713-353-1966 EDUCATIONUniversity of Santo TomasBachelor of Science in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Edward Fowler Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Partner, CFA, ASA, MAFFedward.fowler@bvccpa.com512-476-8866 CERTIFICATIONSAccredited Senior Appraiser – Business ValuationChartered Financial AnalystMaster Analyst ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Partner, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATIONMiami University of OhioMaster in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Hal D. Miller Tax Partner, CPA hal.miller@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Abilene Christian University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATIONUniversity of the East, Manila, PhillippinesCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Jason SandersTax Department Chair, CPAjsanders@bvccpa.com713-667-9147 EDUCATION B.S in Accounting from Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, Louisiana CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Jason Sharp Tax Partner, CPA, JD, LLMjsharp@bvccpa.com713-366-8562 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonJuris Doctorate from South Texas College ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATIONJD from Texas Tech UniversityMBA in Accounting from Texas ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Director, CPAjalcorta@bvccpa.com713-353-1978 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonB.S. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Partner, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Partner, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 EDUCATIONUniversity of NebraskaB.S. in AccountingThe University of TexasMaster in Professional AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – ...
    Read More
    Joseph MeyerRisk Advisory Services Director, CIA, CISAjoseph.meyer@bvccpa.com713-366-8558 EDUCATION M.B.A. Internal Audit/Information Systems B.A in Liberal Arts from Louisiana State University ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESCorporate Tax Planning ...
    Read More
    Kevin Lovins Tax Partner, CPA klovins@bvccpa.com 713-353-1914 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of TexasArlington, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESHealthcareManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Larry Dodson Audit Partner, CPA larry.dodson@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionFinancial ...
    Read More
    Lynell Lilly Tax Partner, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionNon-ProfitProfessional ...
    Read More
    Marilyn Fowler Tax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonM.S. in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Mark Schaaf Tax & Valuation Shareholder mschaaf@bvccpa.com 713-353-1922 EDUCATIONBall State UniversityB.S. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasCertified Valuation AnalystINDUSTRIESConstructionHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Partner, CPA meresa.morgan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1921 EDUCATIONB.S.B.A. in Accounting from Auburn UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Partner, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial ...
    Read More
    Sam Oldroyd Tax Principal, CPA soldroyd@bvccpa.com 832-463-4087 EDUCATION B.B.A in Accounting from University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    R. Scott Robertson Tax Partner, CPA srobertson@bvccpa.com 713-353-1947 EDUCATIONMount Allison UniversityBachelor of Commerce in AccountingCanisius CollegeMasters in ScienceCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Sheila Enriquez Managing Shareholder senriquez@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATIONB.S. in Public Accounting, summa cum laude, from Mercy CollegeM.B.A. at Long Island University, ...
    Read More
    Virginia Platts Tax Director, CPA, JD, LLM vplatts@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 ext. 1959 EDUCATION Purdue University B.S. in General Management Accounting Finance ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Partner, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityBeijing Medical UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasCertified Financial PlannerINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More