Services for Energy Companies

Services for Energy Companies

Audit & Attestation

  • Oil and gas exploration accounting under full cost or successful efforts
  • Financial statement audit, review, compilation, or special report services to comply with regulatory, lending, and private equity reporting
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits

Tax Planning & Compliance

  • Federal and State Tax Planning and Compliance
  • Tax Provision Assistance (ASC 740)
  • International Tax Planning and Compliance
  • State and Local Tax (SALT)

Business Advisory

  • IPOs and Integration Strategies for Acquisition & Divestiture
  • Cash Flow Management
  • Internal Controls Analysis
  • Operational Process Improvements
  • Buyouts/Succession Planning
  • Acquisition & Divestiture Services
  • Business Structure and Entity Planning
  • Exit Strategies
  • Business Valuation

Forensic Accounting

  • Fraud Investigations
  • Asset Tracing
  • Dispute Resolution

How We Can Assist with Current Energy Industry Accounting & Tax Issues

Cost Management for Internal Financial Functions

Project billing, month-end closings, and reports for lenders can place burdens on your existing finance and accounting staff. And with the continued uncertainly surrounding commodity pricing, many energy companies are seeking ways to reduce internal fixed costs yet maintain efficient operations.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s outsourced controller and accounting services gives you budget flexibility and control when you require interim support of full back office accounting functions. Contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com for more details.

Acquisitions & Divestitures

The volatility of commodity pricing continues to create transaction opportunities in E&P and oilfield services companies as companies right-size their operations.

How to prepare: Our Acquisitions & Divestitures group can work with management, lenders, and private equity firms on the valuation, diligence, analysis, tax planning, closing, and newco structures. Our team has worked on a diverse set of transactions with a wide range of purchase prices, entity structures, and types of buyers and sellers. For more information contact Jason Sharp at jsharp@bvccpa.com.

Recovery from Vendors

Oftentimes, actual contract delivery and performance varies from the terms of a supplier contract, causing hidden losses on the operator or services company. When the energy business was booming, few companies would even attempt to reconcile underperformance.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka professionals can perform audits of actual vs. contracted performance and, depending on the terms of the contract, find cash recoveries for the company. Proactively, we can examine current contract structure from a performance standpoint to advise you on how to create opportunities for recovery in future contracts. Contact Adam Dimmick for more information at adimmick@bvccpa.com

 

Lease Accounting Changes

For E&P and service companies who rely on leasing capital equipment, the new lease accounting standards can have significant impact on financial statements and financial covenants. It is important to understand the implications on covenants currently being negotiated.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka audit professionals can assist in determining the potential impact of these new standards in advance of them going into effect and offer planning options to take a proactive approach with lenders and other users of financial statements. Contact Kevin Stewart at kstewart@bvccpa.com for more information.

Operations in Foreign Jurisdictions

The complexities of oil & gas operations are compounded in foreign jurisdictions from regulatory, tax, operations, and fraud standpoints. Many middle market E&P and service companies either don’t have the experience or the resources to address these issues.

How to prepare: Our international services group has extensive experience advising companies on entity structure, fraud issues, and other complexities that allow for efficient operations in foreign jurisdictions. We partner with legal, insurance, and other professional services to create seamless solutions for ventures into foreign jurisdictions. Contact Crystal Gates at cgates@bvccpa.com for more information.

Joseph_Meyer

Joseph Meyer

Risk Advisory Services Director, CPA, CFE
joseph.meyer@bvccpa.com
713-366-8558

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Michelle_Mullen

Michelle Mullen

Tax Shareholder, CPA
mmullen@bvccpa.com
713-366-8560

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Forest_Xu

Forest Xu

Tax Shareholder, CPA
fxu@bvccpa.com
713-366-8529

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Sonny_Brandtner

Sonny Brandtner

Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE
sbrandtner@bvccpa.com
281-917-7541

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Kerry Kilgore

Audit Shareholder, CPA
kkilgore@bvccpa.com
713-366-8523

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Fast Facts

  • Briggs & Veselka is a viable alternative to larger accounting firms. Our fees are incredibly competitive in the industry. Our service model and delivery team focuses on proactivity.
  • Innovative solutions that provide opportunities for “found money” or cost reductions for companies wishing to right size their operations
  • Extensive experience in tax, audit, and transaction matters in the E&P and oilfield services value chain
  • We understand the unique capital structure of the E&P segment, and have deep experience within the PE and broader lending community—the fuel that drives the investment in the sector
Find All Energy Services Professionals

    Adam Dimmick Audit Department Chair, CPA, CGMA adimmick@bvccpa.com 713-353-1954 EDUCATION B.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    Beverly Hensley Tax Shareholder, CPA bhensley@bvccpa.com 979-543-1040 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston - VictoriaB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionReal EstateSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Bill Penczak Managing Director bpenczak@bvccpa.com 713-353-1918 EDUCATION University of Texas B.S. in Advertising; graduated with Honors AAAA Executive Leadership CERTIFICATIONS Miller-Heiman ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Shareholder, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Dan St.Clair Audit Director, CPA dst.clair@bvccpa.com 713-353-1974 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting  from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureConstructionEnergyFinancial ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Shareholder, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATIONMiami University of OhioMaster in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Gary Trochta CPA, Tax Shareholder gtrochta@bvccpa.com 979-543-1040 EDUCATION Texas State University B.A. in Accounting Graduated with Honors CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Hal D. Miller Tax Shareholder, CPA hal.miller@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Abilene Christian University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATIONUniversity of the East, Manila, PhillippinesCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Jamie SylvesterAudit Shareholder, CPAjsylvester@bvccpa.com713-353-1931 EDUCATION B.M. from the University of Lethbridge in Canada Graduate of the Northern Alberta Institute of ...
    Read More
    Jason Liu Audit Shareholder, CPA jliu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8563 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonMBACERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESBiotechConstructionEnergyLife Sciences & BiotechnologyManufacturing & DistributionRetailSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    Jason Sharp Tax Shareholder, CPA, JD, LLM jsharp@bvccpa.com 713-366-8562 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston Juris Doctorate ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATIONJD from Texas Tech UniversityMBA in Accounting from Texas ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Principal, CPA jalcorta@bvccpa.com 713-353-1978 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonB.S. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESPrivate ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Shareholder, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 EDUCATIONUniversity of NebraskaB.S. in AccountingThe University of TexasMaster in Professional AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – ...
    Read More
    Joseph Meyer Risk Advisory Services Director, CPA, CFE joseph.meyer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8558 EDUCATION M.B.A. Internal Audit/Information Systems B.A in Liberal Arts from ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESCorporate Tax Planning ...
    Read More
    Kerry Kilgore Audit Shareholder, CPA kkilgore@bvccpa.com 713-366-8523 EDUCATIONAbilene Christian UniversityMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionReal EstateSERVICESPrivate Company ...
    Read More
    Kevin Hengst Audit Principal, CPA khengst@bvccpa.com 713-366-8514 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston Honors CollegeB.B.A. in Business AdministrationCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyRestaurants & HospitalityTransportationSERVICESPrivate ...
    Read More
    Laura Freudenberger Audit Shareholder, CPA lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com 713-353-1916 EDUCATIONB.S.B.A. from Ohio State UniversityM.B.A. from the University of New OrleansCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Lynell Lilly Tax Shareholder, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionNon-ProfitProfessional ...
    Read More
    Marilyn Fowler Tax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonM.S. in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Shareholder, CPA meresa.morgan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1921 EDUCATION B.S.B.A. in Accounting from Auburn University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Michelle Mullen Tax Shareholder, CPA mmullen@bvccpa.com 713-366-8560 EDUCATIONWashington State UniversityMBAB.A. in Business AdministrationB.S. in AgribusinessCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Shareholder, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial ...
    Read More
    Rubik Yeriazarian Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Principal, CPA, CFE, CFF rubiky@bvccpa.com 713-366-8527 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonBBA in AccountingMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified ...
    Read More
    Sheila Enriquez Managing Shareholder senriquez@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATIONB.S. in Public Accounting, summa cum laude, from Mercy CollegeM.B.A. at Long Island University, ...
    Read More
    Sonny Brandtner Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE sbrandtner@bvccpa.com 281-917-7541 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from University of Texas - AustinCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Terry Sherrill Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA tsherrill@bvccpa.com 713-353-1998 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Thao Griepp FVLS Senior Manager, CPA, J.D. tgriepp@bvccpa.com 832-463-4137   EDUCATION University of Texas - Austin BBA in Accounting MPA ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Shareholder, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityBeijing Medical UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasCertified Financial PlannerINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More