Financial service image

Financial Institutions

Services for Financial Institutions

Business Advisory

  • Internal Audit Outsourcing/Co-sourcing
  • Regulatory Compliance Audits
  • Bank Secrecy Act/Anti-Money Laundering Audits
  • Outsourced Loan Reviews
  • Asset Liability Management/ Interest Rate Risk Audits
  • ACH Audits; Penetration Testing and Network Vulnerability Scans
  • Sarbanes Oxley (SOX) Compliance
  • Consulting Services
  • De Novo Application Process Assistance
  • Development of Policies and Procedures
  • Fraud Investigation
  • Enterprise-Wide Risk Assessment
  • Regulatory Liaison
  • Loan Portfolio Stress Testing
  • Risk Assessments
  • System Conversion Consulting

Audit & Attestation

  • Financial Statement Audit
  • Director’s Examination
  • Supervisory Audits
  • SSAE 18 Engagements
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits
  • FFIEC (Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council) Information Technology (IT) Reviews
  • Trust Audits

Tax Planning & Compliance

How We Can Assist Current Financial Institutions with Operations, Accounting, and Tax Issues

New Lease Accounting Regulations

These new accounting rules could impact bank loan covenants as they might change the borrowing base for many loans.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka is already working with financial institutions and their clients to advise them on the possible implications of these new accounting regulations; the intent is to help them prepare possible revisions to existing covenants, and as guidance for future loan agreements. For more information, contact Kevin Stewart at kstewart@bvccpa.com.

Loan Review Efficiency

Many smaller banks and credit unions wish to increase the effectiveness or efficiency of their loan reviews, but are often challenged by the lack of qualified personnel, particularly in smaller markets with a limited labor pool.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka offers outsourced loan review process, either on a turnkey or project basis. The work is completed by former bank loan review professionals, resulting in greater efficiency and better internal cost controls. For more information, contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com.

Chip Technology

As regulations requiring credit card issuers and their customers to shift to imbedded chips, there have been increasing operations and liability issues.

How to prepare: Our banking group, in conjunction with our retail and restaurant industry groups, has taken a proactive approach on how to address the operations, IT security, and ancillary issues related to the changeover, designed to be helpful for smaller banks who might lack the IT experience in dealing with these issues.  For more information, contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com.

FDICIA Application Process Assistance

As banks reach the deposit threshold, they must begin the process of adjusting operations and financial reporting requirements to meet stricter standards.

How to prepareOur integrated team of CPAs specializing in banking, in concert with our Business Advisory Services group, can provide an integrated road map on making the shift, and can offer insights into the possible issues, based on working with other banks who have experienced the changeover. For more information, contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com.

David_Phelps

David Phelps

Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA
dphelps@bvccpa.com
713-353-1941

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Terry_Sherrill

Terry Sherrill

Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA
tsherrill@bvccpa.com
713-353-1998

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Michelle_Mullen

Michelle Mullen

Tax Shareholder, CPA
mmullen@bvccpa.com
713-366-8560

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

John Flatowicz

Audit Shareholder, CPA
jflatowicz@bvccpa.com
713-353-1910

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Bank Client Testimonial

“I am impressed you completed the back testing report so quickly compared to your competition that took nine months before I had a report. I know we have engaged a superior firm to perform our audit work now.”

Executive Vice President of $500M asset Texas bank

Terry Sherrill - Banking practice

Fast Facts

  • One of the largest financial services practices in Texas, offering sophisticated operations consulting in addition to audit and tax compliance
  • The Briggs & Veselka team consists of former bankers, regulators, internal auditors, loan review professionals and consultants, delivering practical solutions based on actual financial services experience
  • Insights into the unique aspects of banks, credit unions, mortgage companies, investment companies, and other financial services organizations
  • Team professional designations include Certified Bank Auditor, Certified Internal Auditor, Certified Financial Services Auditor and CPA
Find All Financial Services Professionals

    Bill LoveTax Shareholder, CPA, ABV, CFFblove@bvccpa.com512-346-0908 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Texas in Austin, Texas CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Dan St.Clair Audit Director, CPA dst.clair@bvccpa.com 713-353-1974 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting  from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & ...
    Read More
    David Munn Advisory Director, CFE dmunn@bvccpa.com 713-366-8509 EDUCATION Texas State University Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration Colorado School of Banking ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureConstructionEnergyFinancial ...
    Read More
    Debra Seefeld Audit Shareholder, CPA, CFE debra.seefeld@bvccpa.com 281-362-9732 EDUCATION B.B.A in Accounting from Sam Houston State University Graduated Magna Cum Laude ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Shareholder, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATIONMiami University of OhioMaster in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATIONUniversity of the East, Manila, PhillippinesCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Jamie SylvesterAudit Shareholder, CPAjsylvester@bvccpa.com713-353-1931 EDUCATION B.M. from the University of Lethbridge in Canada Graduate of the Northern Alberta Institute of ...
    Read More
    Jason Sanders Tax Department Chair, CPA jsanders@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATION B.S in Accounting from Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, Louisiana CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATIONJD from Texas Tech UniversityMBA in Accounting from Texas ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Shareholder, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 EDUCATIONUniversity of NebraskaB.S. in AccountingThe University of TexasMaster in Professional AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – ...
    Read More
    Larry Dodson Audit Shareholder, CPA larry.dodson@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionFinancial ...
    Read More
    Lesley Sciortino Audit Shareholder, CPA lsciortino@bvccpa.com 713-353-1994 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonBBA in Accounting & FinanceUniversity of Houston - Clear LakeMBACERTIFICATIONSCertified Public ...
    Read More
    Lincoln McKinnon Audit Principal, CPA lmckinnon@bvccpa.com 713-366-8525 EDUCATIONSMU's Southwest Graduate School of Banking - Bank Operations InstituteBBA & MBA from ...
    Read More
    Marilyn Fowler Tax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonM.S. in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Michelle Mullen Tax Shareholder, CPA mmullen@bvccpa.com 713-366-8560 EDUCATIONWashington State UniversityMBAB.A. in Business AdministrationB.S. in AgribusinessCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Shareholder, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial ...
    Read More
    Rubik Yeriazarian Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Principal, CPA, CFE, CFF rubiky@bvccpa.com 713-366-8527 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonBBA in AccountingMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified ...
    Read More
    R. Scott Robertson Tax Shareholder, CPA srobertson@bvccpa.com 713-353-1947 EDUCATIONMount Allison UniversityBachelor of Commerce in AccountingCanisius CollegeMasters in ScienceCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Sonny Brandtner Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE sbrandtner@bvccpa.com 281-917-7541 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from University of Texas - AustinCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Terry Sherrill Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA tsherrill@bvccpa.com 713-353-1998 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Tom P. Donovan Audit Shareholder, CPA tdonovan@bvccpa.com 512-346-0908 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from the University of Texas - AustinCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More