CPA Services for Non-Profits

Services for
Non-Profits

Audit & Attestation

  • Financial Statement Audits
  • Financial Statement Reviews and Compilations
  • Yellow Book Audits
  • Single Audits

Tax Planning & Compliance

Business Advisory

  • Budgeting
  • Crisis and Transition Plans
  • Fraud Audits
  • Internal Control Review
  • Operational Reviews
  • Training In-House Accounting Staff
  • Outsourced Accounting Controllership Services

Forensic Accounting

  • Fraud Risk Management
  • Forensic Auditing
  • Fraud Misconduct and Investigations

Who we serve

  • Religious Organizations, including Churches
  • Trade Associations
  • Schools
  • Museums
  • Affordable Housing
  • Social Service Providers
  • Membership Organizations
  • Civic and Community Organizations
  • Private and Community Foundations
  • Other 501C3 Organizations

Current Non-Profit Industry Issues

Monthly, Quarterly or Year-End Closing Issues

With limited financial staff, regular financial closings can be delayed or lack the sophistication many donors and foundations require.

How to prepare:  Our Outsourced Accounting Services group can provide highly-experienced financial professionals, either working under our direction or yours, to assist with both financial closings and other reporting. We can also advise your organization on financial reporting best practices for non-profits, along with best underlying systems. For more information, contact David Phelps at dphelps@bvccpa.com.

Yellow Book Audits

Non-profits with more than $750,000 in annual federal grants or awards are subject to audits governed by the General Accounting Office, which differ from most commercial audits.

How to prepare: Because of our Yellow Book experience, we can easily make the transition to a Yellow Book audit with minimal disruption to your regular operations and financial reporting. For more information, contact Laura Freudenberger at lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com.

Proactive Board Interaction

The contributions (literally and figuratively) of the board are vital to the effective operations of any non-profit.

How to prepare: Whether it entails regular meetings with a finance committee, review of financial records, compliance with external requirements, internal controls, or suggestions for improvement in the financial aspects of the NPO, we can share leading practices from our experience with other non-profits to ensure proactive planning and reporting for your organization. For more information, contact Laura Freudenberger at lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com

Fraud Prevention and Mitigation

The reputational risk of a fraud event in a non-profit can be devastating to fundraising activities for years. But oftentimes non-profits lack the infrastructure or experience to establish fraud prevention or mitigation processes.

How to prepare: Our services range from a high-level financial fraud analysis, to fraud investigations to recommendations on systems and processes to help prevent fraud events from occurring in the first place. These services are designed and priced for non-profits who want to both protect their fiduciary responsibilities yet protect themselves and their missions. For more information, contact Sheila Enriquez at senriquez@bvccpa.com

Client Testimonial

We have partnered with Briggs and Veselka for over 5 years on our annual non-profit audit. They have been thorough in their research, highly organized in their recommendations to us, and understanding of the non-profit realities of resource management. We have been very happy with the team assigned to our audit and we are especially happy to see the same faces each year. It’s clear to us that they care about our mission just as much as we do.

 

-St. Thomas High School Foundation

Client Testimonial

“They take the time to educate those that govern our finance about the new pronouncements and are always available to answer questions.  It is always good when working with a firm like Briggs & Veselka makes you better at your job.”

 

-Children’s Museum of Houston

Laura_Freudenberger

Laura Freudenberger

Audit Shareholder, CPA
lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com
713-353-1916

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Steve Awalt

Tax Shareholder, CPA
sawalt@bvccpa.com
713-667-9147

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Debra_Seefeld

Debra Seefeld

Audit Shareholder, CPA, CFE
debra.seefeld@bvccpa.com
281-362-9732

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Serving Non-Profits

Fast Facts

  • Briggs & Veselka provides services to more than 200 tax exempt organizations
  • One of Houston’s most experienced non-profit audit teams
  • Yellow Book audit experience
  • Right-sized for non-profits with limited budgets or internal resources
  • The firm’s passion for serving the community is evident by our involvement with more than 200 charitable or community organizations
  • Ability to extend beyond compliance to assist Executive Directors, financial professionals and non-profit boards on current and future business issues
Find All Non-profit Industry Services Professionals


    Adam DimmickAudit Shareholder and Department Chair, CPA, CGMA
    adimmick@bvccpa.com
    713-353-1954 ...
    Read More
    Angie Armstrong Tax Director, CPA aarmstrong@bvccpa.com 713-353-1987 ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 ...
    Read More
    Debra Seefeld Audit Shareholder, CPA, CFE
    debra.seefeld@bvccpa.com
    281-362-9732 ...
    Read More
    Jason Sanders Tax Department Chair, CPA jsanders@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 ...
    Read More
    Larry Dodson Audit Shareholder, CPA larry.dodson@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 ...
    Read More
    Laura Freudenberger Audit Shareholder, CPA lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com 713-353-1916 ...
    Read More
    Lesley Sciortino Audit Shareholder, CPA lsciortino@bvccpa.com 713-353-1994 ...
    Read More
    Lynell Lilly Tax Shareholder, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 ...
    Read More
    R. Scott Robertson Tax Shareholder, CPA srobertson@bvccpa.com 713-353-1947 ...
    Read More
    Sheila Enriquez Managing Shareholder senriquez@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATION
    Steve Awalt Tax Shareholder, CPA sawalt@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 ...
    Read More
    Tom P. Donovan Audit Shareholder, CPA tdonovan@bvccpa.com 512-346-0908 ...
    Read More

    Ask Us a Question