Power & Utilities Tax & Accounting Services

Experienced Professionals with IPP

and Co-Op Experience

 

Providing financial reporting, regulatory compliance and tax planning for power and utilities companies and their private equity owners.

Audit & Attestation

  • Financial statement audits
  • Reviews and compilations
  • Agreed Upon Procedures
  • Service Organization Controls (SOC 1, 2 & 3)
  • Regulatory accounting such ASC 980 and Regulated Operations (formerly SFAS No. 71)
  • Practical application of FASB, GASB, FERC, RUS, and NARUC accounting/reporting guidance
  • Derivatives accounting
  • Joint venture audits
  • Employee Benefit Plan audits

Tax Planning & Compliance

Who We Serve

  • Independent Power Producers
  • Retail Power Companies
  • Co-ops
  • Joint Power Entities
  • Manufacturers and service companies for the Power & Utilities industry

Not only do we provide an intelligent approach, but we do so with teams that consistently earn client satisfaction scores that are four times the industry average.

jason Liu

Jason Liu

Audit Partner, CPA
jliu@bvccpa.com
713-366-8563
BIO VCARDLinkedIN

 

Lily Wang

Lily Wang

Audit Partner
lily.wang@bvccpa.com
832-463-4153

BIO VCARDLinkedIN

 

Fast Facts

  • Briggs & Veselka is a viable alternative to larger accounting firms. Our fees are incredibly competitive in the industry. Our service model and delivery team focuses on proactivity
  • Innovative solutions that provide opportunities for “found money” or cost reductions for companies wishing to right size their operations
  • Extensive experience in tax, audit, and transaction matters in the Power & Utilities market
  • We understand the unique capital structure of the Power & Utilities segment, and have deep experience within the PE and broader lending community—the fuel that drives the investment in the sector
Find All Energy Services Professionals

    Adam DimmickAudit Partner and Department Chair, CPA, CGMAadimmick@bvccpa.com713-353-1954 EDUCATION B.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Beverly Hensley Tax Partner, CPA bhensley@bvccpa.com 979-543-1040 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston - VictoriaB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionReal EstateSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Partner, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Partner, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureConstructionEnergyFinancial ...
    Read More
    Edward Fowler Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Partner, CFA, ASA, MAFFedward.fowler@bvccpa.com512-476-8866 CERTIFICATIONSAccredited Senior Appraiser – Business ValuationChartered Financial AnalystMaster Analyst ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Partner, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATIONMiami University of OhioMaster in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Hal D. Miller Tax Partner, CPA hal.miller@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Abilene Christian University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATIONUniversity of the East, Manila, PhillippinesCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Jamie Sylvester Audit Partner, CPAjsylvester@bvccpa.com713-353-1931 EDUCATION B.M. from the University of Lethbridge in Canada Graduate of the Northern Alberta Institute ...
    Read More
    Jason Liu Audit Partner, CPA jliu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8563 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonMBACERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESBiotechConstructionEnergyLife Sciences & BiotechnologyManufacturing & DistributionRetailSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    Jason_SharpTax Partner, CPA JD LLMjsharp@bvccpa.com713-366-8562 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston Juris Doctorate from South Texas College ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATIONJD from Texas Tech UniversityMBA in Accounting from Texas ...
    Read More
    James "Jim" Herrmann Chief Information OfficerPMP, MPM, LSSGB, ITILjames.herrmann@bvccpa.com713-353-1902 CERTIFICATIONS Project Management Professional (PMI PMP) Master Project Manager (AAPM MPM) ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Director, CPAjalcorta@bvccpa.com713-353-1978 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonB.S. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Partner, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Partner, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 EDUCATIONUniversity of NebraskaB.S. in AccountingThe University of TexasMaster in Professional AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESCorporate Tax Planning ...
    Read More
    Kerry Kilgore Audit Partner, CPAkkilgore@bvccpa.com713-366-8523 EDUCATION Abilene Christian University Masters of Accountancy CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Energy ...
    Read More
    Kevin Hengst Audit Principal, CPA khengst@bvccpa.com 713-366-8514 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston Honors CollegeB.B.A. in Business AdministrationCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyRestaurants & HospitalityTransportationSERVICESPrivate ...
    Read More
    Kevin Stewart Advisory Principal & Client Accounting Services Practice Leadkstewart@bvccpa.com713-366-8503 CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Construction Oilfield Services ...
    Read More
    Lily K. Wang Audit Partner, Energy Team Lead, CPAadimmick@bvccpa.com832-463-4153 CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant - Texas INDUSTRIES Construction Energy/Power & Utilities ...
    Read More
    Lynell Lilly Tax Partner, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionNon-ProfitProfessional ...
    Read More
    Marilyn Fowler Tax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonM.S. in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Partner, CPA meresa.morgan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1921 EDUCATIONB.S.B.A. in Accounting from Auburn UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Michelle Mullen Tax Partner, CPA mmullen@bvccpa.com 713-366-8560 EDUCATIONWashington State UniversityMBAB.A. in Business AdministrationB.S. in AgribusinessCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Partner, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial ...
    Read More
    Rubik Yeriazarian Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Principal, CPA, CFE, CFF rubiky@bvccpa.com 713-366-8527 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonBBA in AccountingMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified ...
    Read More
    Sheila Enriquez Managing Shareholder senriquez@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATIONB.S. in Public Accounting, summa cum laude, from Mercy CollegeM.B.A. at Long Island University, ...
    Read More
    Sonny Brandtner Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE sbrandtner@bvccpa.com 281-917-7541 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from University of Texas - AustinCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Thao Griepp FVLS Director, CPA, J.D.tgriepp@bvccpa.com832-463-4137   EDUCATIONUniversity of Texas - AustinBBA in AccountingMPAUniversity of Houston Law CenterJ.D.CERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Partner, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityBeijing Medical UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasCertified Financial PlannerINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More