Power & Utilities Tax & Accounting Services

Experienced Professionals with IPP

and Co-Op Experience

 

Providing financial reporting, regulatory compliance and tax planning for power and utilities companies and their private equity owners.

Audit & Attestation

  • Financial statement audits
  • Reviews and compilations
  • Agreed Upon Procedures
  • Service Organization Controls (SOC 1, 2 & 3)
  • Regulatory accounting such ASC 980 and Regulated Operations (formerly SFAS No. 71)
  • Practical application of FASB, GASB, FERC, RUS, and NARUC accounting/reporting guidance
  • Derivatives accounting
  • Joint venture audits
  • Employee Benefit Plan audits

Tax Planning & Compliance

Who We Serve

  • Independent Power Producers
  • Retail Power Companies
  • Co-ops
  • Joint Power Entities
  • Manufacturers and service companies for the Power & Utilities industry

Not only do we provide an intelligent approach, but we do so with teams that consistently earn client satisfaction scores that are four times the industry average.

jason Liu

Jason Liu

Audit Shareholder, CPA
jliu@bvccpa.com
713-366-8563
BIO VCARDLinkedIN

 

Lily Wang

Lily Wang

Audit Principal
lily.wang@bvccpa.com
832-463-4153

BIO VCARDLinkedIN

Fast Facts

  • Briggs & Veselka is a viable alternative to larger accounting firms. Our fees are incredibly competitive in the industry. Our service model and delivery team focuses on proactivity
  • Innovative solutions that provide opportunities for “found money” or cost reductions for companies wishing to right size their operations
  • Extensive experience in tax, audit, and transaction matters in the Power & Utilities market
  • We understand the unique capital structure of the Power & Utilities segment, and have deep experience within the PE and broader lending community—the fuel that drives the investment in the sector
Find All Energy Services Professionals

    Adam DimmickAudit Shareholder and Department Chair, CPA, CGMAadimmick@bvccpa.com713-353-1954 EDUCATIONB.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, CaliforniaCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Beverly Hensley Tax Shareholder, CPA bhensley@bvccpa.com 979-543-1040 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston - VictoriaB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionReal EstateSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Shareholder, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Dan St.Clair Audit Director, CPA dst.clair@bvccpa.com 713-353-1974 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting  from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from the University of HoustonCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureConstructionEnergyFinancial ...
    Read More
    Edward FowlerForensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Shareholder, CFA, ASA, MAFFedward@financial-valuations.com512-476-8866 CERTIFICATIONS Accredited Senior Appraiser – Business Valuation Chartered Financial Analyst Master ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Shareholder, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATIONMiami University of OhioMaster in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Hal D. Miller Tax Shareholder, CPA hal.miller@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Abilene Christian University in Abilene, TexasCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATIONUniversity of the East, Manila, PhillippinesCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More
    Jamie SylvesterAudit Shareholder, CPAjsylvester@bvccpa.com713-353-1931 EDUCATION B.M. from the University of Lethbridge in Canada Graduate of the Northern Alberta Institute of ...
    Read More
    Jason Liu Audit Shareholder, CPA jliu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8563 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonMBACERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESBiotechConstructionEnergyLife Sciences & BiotechnologyManufacturing & DistributionRetailSERVICESPrivate Company Audit ...
    Read More
    Jason Sharp Tax Shareholder, CPA, JD, LLMjsharp@bvccpa.com713-366-8562 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from the University of HoustonJuris Doctorate from South Texas College ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATIONJD from Texas Tech UniversityMBA in Accounting from Texas ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Principal, CPA jalcorta@bvccpa.com 713-353-1978 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonB.S. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESPrivate ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATIONB.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Shareholder, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 EDUCATIONUniversity of NebraskaB.S. in AccountingThe University of TexasMaster in Professional AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – ...
    Read More
    Joseph MeyerRisk Advisory Services Director, CIA, CISAjoseph.meyer@bvccpa.com713-366-8558 EDUCATION M.B.A. Internal Audit/Information Systems B.A in Liberal Arts from Louisiana State University ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityB.B.A. in AccountingCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESProfessional ServicesReal EstateSERVICESCorporate Tax Planning ...
    Read More
    Kerry Kilgore Audit Shareholder, CPA kkilgore@bvccpa.com 713-366-8523 EDUCATIONAbilene Christian UniversityMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionReal EstateSERVICESPrivate Company ...
    Read More
    Kevin Hengst Audit Principal, CPA khengst@bvccpa.com 713-366-8514 EDUCATIONUniversity of Houston Honors CollegeB.B.A. in Business AdministrationCERTIFICATIONSCertified PublicAccountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyRestaurants & HospitalityTransportationSERVICESPrivate ...
    Read More
    Laura Freudenberger Audit Shareholder, CPA lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com 713-353-1916 EDUCATIONB.S.B.A. from Ohio State UniversityM.B.A. from the University of New OrleansCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Lynell Lilly Tax Shareholder, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATIONB.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESAgricultureEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionNon-ProfitProfessional ...
    Read More
    Marilyn Fowler Tax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonM.S. in AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESEnergyFinancial InstitutionsHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ServicesSERVICESCorporate ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Shareholder, CPA meresa.morgan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1921 EDUCATIONB.S.B.A. in Accounting from Auburn UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Michelle Mullen Tax Shareholder, CPA mmullen@bvccpa.com 713-366-8560 EDUCATIONWashington State UniversityMBAB.A. in Business AdministrationB.S. in AgribusinessCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasINDUSTRIESConstructionEnergyFinancial InstitutionsManufacturing ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Shareholder, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial ...
    Read More
    Rubik Yeriazarian Forensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Principal, CPA, CFE, CFF rubiky@bvccpa.com 713-366-8527 EDUCATIONUniversity of HoustonBBA in AccountingMasters of AccountancyCERTIFICATIONSCertified ...
    Read More
    Sheila Enriquez Managing Shareholder senriquez@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATIONB.S. in Public Accounting, summa cum laude, from Mercy CollegeM.B.A. at Long Island University, ...
    Read More
    Sonny Brandtner Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE sbrandtner@bvccpa.com 281-917-7541 EDUCATIONB.B.A in Accounting from University of Texas - AustinCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Thao GrieppFVLS Director, CPA, J.D.tgriepp@bvccpa.com832-463-4137   EDUCATION University of Texas - Austin BBA in Accounting MPA University of Houston Law ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Shareholder, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATIONTexas A&M UniversityBeijing Medical UniversityCERTIFICATIONSCertified Public Accountant – TexasCertified Financial PlannerINDUSTRIESEnergyHealthcareManufacturing & DistributionProfessional ...
    Read More