Retail Industry Tax & Audit Services

Tax and Audit Services for Retail

Audit & Attestation

  • Monthly Financial Statements
  • Monthly Bank Reconciliations
  • Maintain General Ledgers and Journals
  • Audits of Financial Statements
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits

Tax Planning & Preparation

  • Federal Tax Planning and Preparation
  • State & Local Tax Planning and Preparation
  • Monthly Meals and Sales Tax Returns
  • IRS Annual Tip Report
  • Annual 1099’s
  • State and Local Tax (SALT)

Business Advisory

  • Maintain Fixed Asset Records
  • Detailed Depreciation Schedules
  • Annual Breakeven Analyses
  • Outsourced Accounting Services
  • PCI Compliance
  • Data Security
  • Penetration Testing
  • Acquisition & Divestiture Support
  • Regulation Compliance
  • Business Improvement Services
  • Business Modelling
  • Capital Planning
  • Cash Flow Forecasting
  • Compensation Planning
  • Disposal of Non-Core Assets

Forensic Accounting

  • Fraud and slippage investigations and prevention

How We Can Assist with Current Retail Accounting, Tax and Business Issues

New Lease Accounting Regulations

These new accounting rules could have impact on bank loan covenants as they might change the borrowing base for many loans essential to your operations.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka is already working with companies and their banks to advise them on the possible implications of these new accounting regulations to help them prepare possible revisions to existing covenants and as guidance for future loan agreements. For more information, contact John Flatowicz at jflatowicz@bvccpa.com.

Data Security

Companies with significant credit card transactions are faced with increasing scrutiny and potential assumption of liabilities for fraud events.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka Business Advisory professionals can assist with penetration testing, PCI compliance and data processing risks and control issues to protect your operations from unneeded costs and reputation risk. For more information contact David Phelps at dphelps@bvccpa.com.

Cost Management for Internal Financial Functions

Supplier billing, month-end closings, and reports for lenders can place burdens on your existing finance and accounting staff and impede the cash flow of your operation.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s outsourced controller and accounting services gives you budget flexibility and control when you require interim support of full back office accounting functions. For more information contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com.

Fraud & Shrinkage

More than 40% of retail shrinkage is caused by employees, either as isolated incidents or as part of a larger, more organized scheme.

How to prepare: Our teams of internal auditors and forensic investigators can work with your operations teams to develop preventative methods via process improvement, or in the event of discovery of an organized fraud, conduct forensic accounting to uncover defensible evidence of fraud. For more information contact Sheila Enriquez at senriquez@bvccpa.com.

Kevin_Lovins

Kevin Lovins

Tax Shareholder, CPA
klovins@bvccpa.com
713-353-1914

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

John Flatowicz

Audit Shareholder, CPA
jflatowicz@bvccpa.com
713-353-1910

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Sheila_Enriquez

Sheila Enriquez

Managing Shareholder, CPA, JD
senriquez@bvccpa.com
713-667-9147

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

David_Phelps

David Phelps

Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA
dphelps@bvccpa.com
713-353-1941

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Fast Facts

  • The firm serves many iconic retail brands based in Texas—leaders in their segments who require sophisticated audit and tax services in Texas and in other states
  • Our integrated approach provides seamless planning and compliance services with a distinct understanding of the issues facing today’s retailers.  See some current topics to the left.
  • The firm’s network of professionals in lending, insurance and technology—those who we’ve worked with before– gives our retail clients access to resources to address a myriad of issues
Find All Retail Services Professionals


    Adam DimmickAudit Shareholder and Department Chair, CPA, CGMA
    adimmick@bvccpa.com
    713-353-1954 ...
    Read More
    Brian Jordan Tax Director, CPA, CFE bjordan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1980 ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 ...
    Read More
    Dennis Baonguis Audit Director, CPA dbaonguis@bvccpa.com 713-353-1966 ...
    Read More
    Edward FowlerForensic, Valuation & Litigation Support Shareholder, CFA, ASA, MAFF
    edward@financial-valuations.com
    512-476-8866 CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    Hal D. Miller Tax Shareholder, CPA hal.miller@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 ...
    Read More
    Jason Liu Audit Shareholder, CPA jliu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8563 ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com ...
    Read More
    John Cooney State & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 ...
    Read More
    John Flatowicz Audit Shareholder, CPA jflatowicz@bvccpa.com 713-353-1910 ...
    Read More
    Joseph MeyerRisk Advisory Services Director, CIA, CISA
    joseph.meyer@bvccpa.com
    713-366-8558 EDUCATION ...
    Read More
    Kevin Lovins Tax Shareholder, CPA klovins@bvccpa.com 713-353-1914 ...
    Read More
    Larry Dodson Audit Shareholder, CPA larry.dodson@bvccpa.com 512-480-8182 ...
    Read More
    Lesley Sciortino Audit Shareholder, CPA lsciortino@bvccpa.com 713-353-1994 ...
    Read More
    Mark Schaaf Tax & Valuation Shareholder mschaaf@bvccpa.com 713-353-1922 ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Shareholder, CPA
    meresa.morgan@bvccpa.com
    713-353-1921 ...
    Read More
    Rick Westerfield Tax Shareholder, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 ...
    Read More
    Sam Oldroyd Tax Principal, CPA soldroyd@bvccpa.com 832-463-4087 EDUCATION ...
    Read More
    Thao GrieppFVLS Director, CPA, J.D.
    tgriepp@bvccpa.com
    832-463-4137   EDUCATION